NEW YORK STATE BAR ASSOCIATION MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN, NEW YORK CITY JANUARY 18, 2019

.....

PRESENT: Aaron; Alcott; Barclay; Baum; Belowich; Ben-Asher; Bennett; Berman; Billings; Block; Bonina; Briwn Spitzmueller; Brown, E.; Brown, T.A.; Buholtz; Burke; Castellano; Chambers; Christensen; Cilenti; Coffey; Cohen, D.; Cohen, O.; Connery; Dean; Di Pietro; Doerr; Doxey; Effman; Eng; England; Entin Maroney; Fernandez; Ferrara; Finerty; Fishberg; Flood; Foley; Freenman, H.; Friedman; Frumkin; Genoa; Gerstman; Gold; Goldschmidt; Grays; Greenberg; Grimaldi; Grogan; Gutekunst; Gutenberger Grossman; Gutierrez; ack; Hage; Haig; Heath; Heller; Hines; Hurteau; Hyer; Jaglom; James; Kamins; Karson; Kean; Kelly; Kobak; Lau-Kee; Lawrence; Leber; Levin Wallach; Levin; Levy; Lewis; Lindenauer; MacLean; Madden; Madigan; Maldonado; Mancuso; Mandell; Margolin; Marinaccio; Markowitz; Maroney; Matos; May; McCann; McGinn; McNamara, C.; McNamara, M.; Meisenheimer; Meyer; Miller, C.; Miller, M.; Millett; Millon; Minkoff; Miranda; Mohun; Moore; Moretti; Moskowitz; Murphy; Napoletano; Nowotarski; Nussbaum; O'Connell; O'Donnell; Onderdonk; Owens; Palermo, C.; Perlman; Pessala; Pitegoff; Pleat; Poster-Zimmerman; Radick; Richman; Richter; Rodriguez; Rosner; Russell; Ryan; Ryba; Safer; Santiago; Scheinkman; Schofield; Schraver; Schreiver; Schub; Scott; Sen; Shafer; Shamoon; Shishov; Shoemaker; Sigmond; Silkenat; Singer; Skidelsky; Slavit; Spirer; Stanclift; Standard; Steiglitz; Strenger; Sweet; Taylor; Teff; Tennant; Tully; Udell; van der Meulen; Vecchio; Vigdor; Weathers; Weiss; Westlake; Weston; Whitting, Whittingham; Young; Younger.

Mr. Miller presided over the meeting as President of the Association.

- 1. The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance recited, with the presentation of colors by the New York State Courts Ceremonial Unit and an invocation by Hon. Milton Tingling.
- 2. <u>Approval of minutes of the January 27, 2018 meeting</u>. The minutes, as previously distributed, were accepted.
- 3. Report of the Nominating Committee and election of elected delegates to the House of <u>Delegates</u>. David P. Miranda, chair of the Nominating Committee, reported that the Committee had nominated the following individuals for election as elected delegates to the House of Delegates for the 2019-2020 Association year:

<u>First District</u>: Susan B. Lindenauer, Stewart Aaron, and Peter Harvey, all of New York City;

<u>Second District</u>: Andrew M. Fallek, Michelle Weston, and Pauline Yeung-Ha, all of Brooklyn;

Third District: Hermes Fernandez Elena DeFio Kean, and Sandra Rivera, all of Albany;

<u>Fourth District</u>: Margaret E. Gilmartin of Saratoga Springs, Matthew R. Coseo of Ballston Spa, and Peter V. Coffey of Schenectady;

<u>Fifth District</u>: Courtney S. Radick of Oswego, Donald C. Doerr of Syracuse, and L. Graeme Spicer of Syracuse;

<u>Sixth District</u>: Patrick J. Flanagan of Norwich, Robert M. Shafer of Tully, and Michael R. May of Ithaca;

<u>Seventh District</u>: LaMarr J. Jackson of Rochester, June M. Castellano of Rochester, and Amy L. Christenson of Bath;

<u>Eighth District</u>: Kathleen Sweet of Buffalo, Michael M. Mohun of Warsaw, and Oliver C. Young of Buffalo;

Ninth District: John A. Pappalardo of White Plains, Andrew P. Schriever of White Plains, and Joseph J. Ranni of Florida;

<u>Tenth District</u>: Steven G. Leventhal of Roslyn, Peter H. Levy of Jericho, and A. Craig Purcell of Stony Brook;

<u>Eleventh District</u>: Lourdes M. Ventura of Albertson, Steven Wimpfheimer of Whitestone, and Guy R. Vitacco, Jr. of Elmhurst;

<u>Twelfth District</u>: Steven E. Millon of New York City, Carlos M. Calderón of Scarsdale, and Daniel D. Cassidy of the Bronx;

<u>Thirteenth District</u>: Orin J. Cohen, Edwina Frances Martin, and Claire Cody Miller, all of Staten Island.

There being no further nominations, a motion was made and carried for the Secretary to cast a single ballot for the elected delegates to the House of Delegates.

- 4. Report of Treasurer. Scott M. Karson, Treasurer, reported on the 2018 operating budget through November 30, 2018. He reported that through November 30, 2018, the Association's total revenue was \$21.5 million, an increase of approximately \$219,000 from the previous year, and total expenses were \$19.5 million, a decrease of approximately \$1 million from the previous year. The operating surplus prior to audit was approximately \$2 million. Mr. Karson also reviewed selected revenue and expense items, with a focus on membership dues revenue. The report was received with thanks.
- 5. Report and recommendations of Committee on Bylaws. Robert T. Schofield, IV, chair of the Bylaws Committee, presented the Committee's proposals to amend the Bylaws to remove the requirement that candidates for member-at-large of the Executive Committee be "members of the House of Delegates or section or committee chairpersons" at the time of selection or within three years preceding selection and replace it with a requirement that candidates be "Active members of the Association." After discussion, a motion was adopted to approve the bylaws amendment.

6. <u>Adjournment</u>. There being no further business, the Annual Meeting of the Association was adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted,

Sherry Levin Wallach

Secretary