## NEW YORK STATE BAR ASSOCIATION MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN, NEW YORK CITY JANUARY 27, 2017

.....

PRESENT: Aidala; Alcott; Alsina; Alvarez; Arenson; Baker; Barrett; Bauman; Behe; Berman; Block; Bloom; Bonina; Braverman; Brown, E.; Brown, J.; Brown, T.A.; Bruno; Burns, S.; Buzard; Calcagni; Carola; Cassidy; Castellano; Chambers; Chandrasekhar; Chang; Cheng; Christenson; Christian; Christopher; Cilenti; Clarke; Cohen, C.; Cohen, D.; Cohen, O.; Cooper; Corbin; Dean; DeFelice; Denton; Disare; Edgar; Effman; England; Ferrara; Finerty; First; Fisher; Flanagan; Flynn; Fox, G.; Fox, M.; Franchina; Freedman; Gaal; Gaddis; Gailliard; Gallagher; Galligan; Gayle; Genoa; Gingold; Gische; Glover; Goldberg Velzaquez; Goldenberg; Goldfarb; Goldschmidt; Gonzalez; Grays; Greenberg; Grogan; Grossman; Gutekunst; Haig; Halpern; Heath; Hetherington; Himes; Hines; Hoffman; Hollyer; Hurteau; Hyer; Jackson; James; Jochmans; Karson; Kase; Kelly; Kiernan, P.; Kiesel; King, B.; Kobak; Koch; Krausz; LaRose; Lau-Kee; Lee; Levy; Lewis; Lindenauer; Madden; Madigan; Makofsky; Mancuso; Mandell, Adam; Maroney; Martin; Masucci; McCann; McKeegan; McNamara; Meisenheimer; Meyers; Miller, C.; Miller, G.; Miller, M.; Millon; Miranda; Moore; Moretti; Moses; Moskowitz; Napoletano; Nathanson; O'Donnell, T.; Ogden; Onderdonk; Owens; Prager; Radding; Ranni; reitzfeld; Richman; Richter; Rivera; Rosner; Russell; Samuels; Schofield; Schraver; Schwenker; Sciocchetti; Seddio; Shafer; Shamoon; Shautsova; Sheehan; Silkenat; Silverman; Simmons; Singer; Smith; Sonberg; Spirer; Spiro; Spitler; Standard; Starkman; Steinhardt; Strenger; Sullivan; Sunshine; Tennant; Thaler-Parker; Tully; Udell; Ventura; Vigdor; Vitacco; Wallach; Wasmund; Weathers; Welch; Westlake; Weston; Whittingham; Wildgrube; Williams; Witmer; Younger; Zuchlewski.

Ms. Gutekunst presided over the meeting as President of the Association.

- 1. The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance recited, with the presentation of colors by the New York State Courts Ceremonial Unit.
- 2. <u>Approval of minutes of the January 29, 2016 meeting</u>. The minutes, as previously distributed, were accepted.
- 3. Report of the Nominating Committee and election of elected delegates to the House of Delegates. David M. Schraver, chair of the Nominating Committee, reported that the Committee had nominated the following individuals for election as elected delegates to the House of Delegates for the 2017-2018 Association year:

<u>First District</u>: James B. Kobak, Jr., Stewart Aaron, and Carrie H. Cohen, all of New York City;

Second District: Andrew M. Fallek, Andrea E. Bonina, and Barton Slavin, all of Brooklyn;

<u>Third District</u>: Glinessa D. Gaillard, Robert T. Schofield IV, and Hermes Fernandez, all of Albany;

<u>Fourth District</u>: Marne L. Onderdonk of Albany, Patricia L.R. Rodriguez of Schenectady, and Peter V. Coffey of Schenectady;

<u>Fifth District</u>: Timothy J. Fennell of Oswego, Gioia A. Gensini of Syracuse, and L. Graeme Spicer of Syracuse;

<u>Sixth District</u>: Patrick J. Flanagan of Norwich, Robert M. Shafer of Tully, and Michael R. May of Ithaca;

<u>Seventh District</u>: LaMarr J. Jackson of Rochester, June M. Castellano of Rochester, and Amy L. Christenson of Bath;

Eighth District: Kathleen Sweet, Jessica M. Lazarin, and Oliver C. Young, all of Buffalo;

Ninth District: Julie Cvek Curley of White Plains, Andrew P. Schriever of White Plains, and Robert B. Marcus of Orangeburg;

<u>Tenth District</u>: William T. Ferris III of Islandia, Rosemarie Tully of Huntington, and Peter J. Mancuso of North Bellmore;

<u>Eleventh District</u>: Frank Bruno, Jr. of Glendale, Chanwoo Lee of Flushing, and Guy R. Vitacco, Jr. of Elmhurst;

<u>Twelfth District</u>: Samuel M. Braverman of the Bronx, Carlos M. Calderón of Scarsdale, and Michael A. Marinaccio of White Plains;

<u>Thirteenth District</u>: Orin J. Cohen, Edwina Frances Martin, and Claire Cody Miller, all of Staten Island.

There being no further nominations, a motion was made and carried for the Secretary to cast a single ballot for the elected delegates to the House of Delegates.

- 4. Report of Treasurer. Scott M. Karson, Treasurer, reported on the 2016 operating budget, comparing the amounts to those as of December 31, 2015. He reported that through December 31, 2016, the Association's total revenue was \$23 million, a decrease of approximately \$135,000 from the previous year, and total expenses were \$22 million, a decrease of approximately \$233,000 from the previous year. The operating surplus prior to audit was approximately \$98,000. Mr. Karson also reviewed selected revenue and expense items, with a focus on membership dues revenue. The report was received with thanks.
- 5. <u>Adjournment</u>. There being no further business, the Annual Meeting of the Association was adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted,

Slew Makiopsky

Ellen G. Makofsky Secretary