NEW YORK STATE BAR ASSOCIATION MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN, NEW YORK CITY JANUARY 29, 2016

.....

PRESENT: Aidala; Alcott; Alden; Alomar; Arenson; Baker; Behe; Block; Bloom; Bonina; Braverman; Brown, E.; Brown, J.; Brown, T.A.; Bruno; Buholtz; Burns, S.; Buzard; Calcagni; Chambers; Chandrasekhar; Chang; Christopher; Cilenti; Clarke; Coffey; Cohen; Connor; Cooper; Coseo; Crummey; Dean; Doyle; Effman; England; Fallek; Fennell; Fernandez; Finerty; First; Fishberg; Fisher; Flynn; Fox, M.; Franchina; Freedman, H.; Friedman; Gaffney; Gallagher; Galligan; Gerbini; Gerstman; Getnick; Glass; Gold; Goldberg; Goldenberg; Goldfarb; Grays; Grossman; Gutekunst; Gutierrez; Hall; Halpern; Heath; Hetherington; Higgins; Himes; Hoffman; Hollyer; Honig; Hyer; Jackson; Jaglom; James; Jankiewicz; Kamins; Karson; Kean; Kelly; Kiesel; King, B.; Kobak; Koch; Krausz; Lanouette; LaRose; Lau-Kee; Lawrence; Lawton-Thames; Leber; Levin; Lindenauer; Ling-Cohan; Makofsky; Mancuso; Marangos, D.; Marangos, J.; Marinaccio; Maroney; Martin, D.; Martin, E.; McCafferty; McCann; McCarron; McCarthy; McGinn; McKay; McKeegan; Meisenheimer; Meyers; Miller, G.; Miller, M.; Millon; Minkowitz; Miranda; Moretti; Morrissey; Moses; Moskowitz; Mulhall; Napoletano; Nathanson; Nowotny; O'Donnell, T.; Ogden; Onderdonk; Owens; Prager; Pressment; Protter; Ranni; Raskin; Reitzfeld; Richardson; Richter, A.; Richter, R.; Riley; Rivera; Robb; Robertson; Rodriguez; Romero; Rothenberg; Rothstein; Ryan; Safer; Samuels; Santiago; Scanlon; Scheinberg; Schraver; Sciocchetti; Sen; Shafer; Shamoon; Shautsova; Sheehan; Sigmond; Silver; Silverman; Simmons, Smith, A.; Smith, S.; Sonberg; Spirer; Spiro; Spitler; Standard; Starkman; Steinhardt; Stenson Desamours; Stines; Strenger; Sunshine; Tarver; Terranova; Tesser; Thaler; Tilton; Tully; Udell; Ugurlayan; Vigdor; Wallach; Walsh; Weathers; Weinblatt; Weis; Welch; Whittingham; Wicks; Wildgrube; Williams; Wimpfheimer; Winograd; Wood; Yeung-Ha; Younger.

Mr. Miranda presided over the meeting as President of the Association.

- 1. The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance recited, with the presentation of colors by the New York State Courts Ceremonial Unit.
- 2. <u>Approval of minutes of the January 30, 2015 meeting</u>. The minutes, as previously distributed, were accepted.
- 3. <u>Report of the Nominating Committee and election of elected delegates to the House of Delegates</u>. Seymour W. James, Jr., chair of the Nominating Committee, reported that the Committee had nominated the following individuals for election as elected delegates to the House of Delegates for the 2016-2017 Association year:

<u>First District</u>: James B. Kobak, Jr., Susan B. Lindenauer, and Carrie H. Cohen, all of New York City;

Second District: John A. Lonuzzi, Andrea E. Bonina, and Jeffrey S. Sunshine, all of Brooklyn;

<u>Third District</u>: Glinessa D. Gaillard, Robert T. Schofield IV, and David W. Myers, all of Albany;

<u>Fourth District</u>: Marne L. Onderdonk of Albany, Patricia L.R. Rodriguez of Schenectady, and Jeremiah Wood of Gloversville;

<u>Fifth District</u>: Timothy J. Fennell of Oswego, Gioia A. Gensini of Syracuse, and Jean Marie Westlake of Syracuse;

<u>Sixth District</u>: Patrick J. Flanagan of Norwich, Richard C. Lewis of Binghamton, and Bruce J. McKeegan of Delhi;

<u>Seventh District</u>: LaMarr J. Jackson of Rochester, June M. Castellano of Rochester, and Amy L. Christenson of Bath;

<u>Eighth District</u>: Joseph Scott Brown of Buffalo, Jessica M. Lazarin of Buffalo, and Norman P. Effman of Warsaw;

<u>Ninth District</u>: Mary Beth Quaranta Morrissey of White Plains, Joseph J. Ranni of Florida, and Kelly M. Welch of Scarsdale;

<u>Tenth District</u>: William T. Ferris III of Islandia, Rosemarie Tully of Huntington, and Peter J. Mancuso of North Bellmore;

<u>Eleventh District</u>: Frank Bruno, Jr. of Glendale, Chanwoo Lee of Flushing, and Guy R. Vitacco, Jr. of Elmhurst;

<u>Twelfth District</u>: Samuel M. Braverman of the Bronx, Daniel D. Cassidy of Scarsdale, and Richard Weinberger of Spring Valley;

<u>Thirteenth District</u>: Edwina Frances Martin, John Z. Marangos, and Claire Cody Miller, all of Staten Island.

There being no further nominations, a motion was made and carried for the Secretary to cast a single ballot for the elected delegates to the House of Delegates.

- 4. <u>Report of Treasurer</u>. Sharon Stern Gerstman, Treasurer, reported on the 2015 operating budget, comparing the amounts to those as of December 31, 2014. She reported that through December 31, 2015, the Association's total revenue was \$24.4 million, a decrease of approximately \$1.5 million from the previous year, and total expenses were \$27.1 million, a decrease of approximately \$3.8 million from the previous year. The operating deficit prior to audit (and prior to retirement adjustments) was approximately \$351,000. Ms. Gerstman also reviewed selected revenue and expense items, including membership and CLE revenue. The report was received with thanks.
- 5. <u>Report of Committee on Bylaws</u>. Eileen E. Buholtz, chair of the Committee on Bylaws, presented proposed amendments to clarify and simplify portions of the Bylaws, as well as amendments with respect to the position of member-at-large of the Nominating

Committee and eligibility to serve on the Nominating Committee while be considered as a candidate for certain offices. A motion was then adopted to approve the amendments to the Bylaws.

6. <u>Adjournment</u>. There being no further business, the Annual Meeting of the Association was adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted,

Ellen Makopsky

Ellen G. Makofsky Secretary