NEW YORK STATE BAR ASSOCIATION MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN, NEW YORK CITY JANUARY 26, 2018

.....

PRESENT: Aaron; Abramson; Alcott; Alomar; Alvarez; Barclay; Barreiro; Bennett; Berman; Billings; Block; Bloom; Bowler; Braunstein; Brown Spitzmueller; Brown, T.A; Bruno; Buholtz; Burke, J.; Burns; Castellano; Chambers; Chandrasekhar; Chang, V.; Christensen; Christopher; Cilenti; Clarke; Cohen, C.; Cohen, D.; Cohen, O.; Cohn; Connery; Davis; Denton; DiFalco; Disare; Doxey; Eberle; Edgar; Effman; Fennell; Fernandez; Ferris; Finerty; First; Fishberg; Foley; Fox; Freedman; Frumkin; Gaddis; Gallagher; Galligan; Genoa; Gensini; Gerbini; Gerstman; Gische; Gold; Goldfarb; Goldschmidt; Grays; Greenberg; Griesemer; Grimaldi; Grogan; Gutekunst; Gutenberger Grossman; Gutierrez; Hack; Haig; Heath; Heller; Hetherington; Himes; Hoffman; Hollyer; Hyer; Jackson; Jaglom; James; Jochmans; Kamins; Karson; Kase; Kean; Kelly; Kiernan; Kiesel; King, B.; Kobak; Koch; Krausz; Lamberti; Lanouette; LaRose; Lau-Kee; Lawrence; Leber; Lessard; Levin Wallach; Levin; Levy; Madden; Madigan; Mancuso; Mandell; Margolin; Mariano; Marinaccio; Maroney; Martin; May; McCann; McGinn; McNamara, C.; McNamara, M.; Meisenheimer; Miller, C.; Miller, M.; Millett; Millon; Minkoff; Miranda; Moretti; Moskowitz; Murphy; Napoletano; Nowotarski; Onderdonk; Ostertag; Owens; Pappalardo; Perlman; Pitegoff; Poster-Zimmerman; Prager; Pruzansky; Quartaro; Richardson; Richman; Richter; Rivera; Rodriguez; Rosner; Russell; Ryan; Safer; Samuels; Santiago; Schofield; Scott; Schraver; Schriever; Schub; Sciocchetti; Shamoon; Sharkey; Shautsova; Sigmond; Silkenat; Singer, C.; Singer, D.; Sonberg; Spicer; Spirer; Spitler; Standard; Starkman; Steinhardt; Stieglitz; Stong; Strenger; Sullivan; Sweet; Tarver; Tennant; Tesser; Triebwasser; Tully; Udell; Vigdor; Vitacco; Weathers; Weiss; Weston; Whiting; Whittingham; Wicks; Wildgrube; Williams; Wolff; Young; Younger.

Ms. Gerstman presided over the meeting as President of the Association.

- 1. The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance recited, with the presentation of colors by the New York State Courts Ceremonial Unit.
- 2. <u>Approval of minutes of the January 27, 2017 meeting</u>. The minutes, as previously distributed, were accepted.
- 3. <u>Report of the Nominating Committee and election of elected delegates to the House of Delegates</u>. Glenn Lau-Kee, chair of the Nominating Committee, reported that the Committee had nominated the following individuals for election as elected delegates to the House of Delegates for the 2018-2019 Association year:

<u>First District</u>: James B. Kobak, Jr., Stewart Aaron, and Peter Harvey, all of New York City;

Second District: Andrew M. Fallek, Andrea E. Bonina, and Barton Slavin, all of Brooklyn;

Third District: Glinessa D. Gaillard, Elena DeFio Kean, and Hermes Fernandez, all of Albany;

<u>Fourth District</u>: Marne L. Onderdonk of Albany, Patricia L.R. Rodriguez of Schenectady, and Peter V. Coffey of Schenectady;

<u>Fifth District</u>: Courtney S. Radick of Oswego, Donald C. Doerr of Syracuse, and L. Graeme Spicer of Syracuse;

<u>Sixth District</u>: Patrick J. Flanagan of Norwich, Robert M. Shafer of Tully, and Michael R. May of Ithaca;

<u>Seventh District</u>: LaMarr J. Jackson of Rochester, June M. Castellano of Rochester, and Amy L. Christenson of Bath;

Eighth District: Kathleen Sweet, Cheryl Smith Fisher, and Oliver C. Young, all of Buffalo;

<u>Ninth District</u>: Jonah I. Triebwasser of Red Hook, Andrew P. Schriever of White Plains, and Steven M. Stieglitz of White Plains;

<u>Tenth District</u>: William T. Ferris III of Islandia, Rosemarie Tully of Huntington, and Peter J. Mancuso of North Bellmore;

<u>Eleventh District</u>: Lourdes M. Ventura of Albertson, Steven Wimpfheimer of Whitestone, and Guy R. Vitacco, Jr. of Elmhurst;

<u>Twelfth District</u>: Samuel M. Braverman of the Bronx, Carlos M. Calderón of Scarsdale, and Michael A. Marinaccio of White Plains;

<u>Thirteenth District</u>: Orin J. Cohen, Edwina Frances Martin, and Claire Cody Miller, all of Staten Island.

There being no further nominations, a motion was made and carried for the Secretary to cast a single ballot for the elected delegates to the House of Delegates.

- 4. <u>Report of Treasurer</u>. Scott M. Karson, Treasurer, reported on the 2017 operating budget, comparing the amounts to those as of December 31, 2016. He reported that through December 31, 2017, the Association's total revenue was \$22 million, a decrease of approximately \$1 million from the previous year, and total expenses were \$22 million, an increase of approximately \$449,000 from the previous year. The operating deficit prior to audit was approximately \$131,000. Mr. Karson also reviewed selected revenue and expense items, with a focus on membership dues revenue. The report was received with thanks.
- 5. <u>Adjournment</u>. There being no further business, the Annual Meeting of the Association was adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted,

Jung

Sherry Levin Wallach Secretary