NEW YORK STATE BAR ASSOCIATION MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN, NEW YORK CITY JANUARY 31, 2020

.....

PRESENT: Aaron; Adigwe; Alcott; Alomar; Arenson; Baum; Behrins; Bennett; Berman; Billings; Braunstein; Breding; Brown, T.A.; Buholtz; Burke; Buzard; Caceres; Castellano; Chang, V.; Christensen; Christian; Christopher; Cilenti; Coffey; Cohen, D.; Cohen, M.; Cohen, O.; Cohn; Connery; Crawford; Dean; Disare; Doerr; Doxey; Eberle; Effman; Eng; Fallek; Fennell; Fernandez; Ferrara; Finerty; First; Fishberg; Fogel; Foley; Fox; Freedman, H.; Friedman; Frumkin; Genoa; Gerstman; Grady; Graves-Poller; Greenberg; Griesemer; Griffin; Grimaldi; Gross; Gutekunst; Gutenberger Grossman; Gitierrez; Haig; Harper; Heller; Fines; Hobika; Holtzman; Jackson; Jaglom; James; Kamins; Karson; Katz; Kean; Kearns; Kelly, K.; Kelly, M.; Kiernan; Koch; Krajewski; Kretser; LaBarbera; Lau-Kee; Lawrence; Leber; Leventhal; Levin Wallach; Levin; Levi; Lewis; Lindenauer; Lugo; MacLean; Madden; Madigan; Maldonado; Mandell; Margolin; Marinaccio; Markowitz; Marotta; Martin Owens; Martin; Matos; May; McCasnn; McNamara, C.; McNamara, M.; Meyer; Miller, C.; Miller, M.; Minkoff; Minkowitz; Miranda; Mohun; Montagnino; Moore; Muller; Mulry; Napoletano; Nowotarski; O'Connell; O'Donnell; Onderdonk; Palermo, C.; Perlman; Pessala; Pitegoff; Pleat; Poster-Zimmerman; Purcell; Radick; Ranni; Richardson; Rivera, J.; Russell; Ryan; Santiago; Scheinkman; Schofield; Schrag; Schraver; Schriever; Scott; Sen; Shafer; Shamoon; Sharkey; Sheldon; Sigmond; Silkenat; Simon; Singer; Skidelsky; Sonberg; Spolzino; Standard; Starkman; Sweet; Taylor; Tennant; Tesser; Triebwasser; van der Meulen; Ventura; Vigdor; Warner; Westlake; Wimpfheimer; Yeung-Ha; Young; Younger.

Mr. Greenberg presided over the meeting as President of the Association.

- 1. The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance recited, with the presentation of colors by the New York State Courts Ceremonial Unit and National Anthem sung by Court Officer Jaleesa Copeland.
- 2. <u>Approval of minutes of the January 18, 2019 meeting</u>. The minutes, as previously distributed, were accepted.
- 3. <u>Report of the Nominating Committee and election of elected delegates to the House of Delegates</u>. Claire P. Gutekunst, chair of the Nominating Committee, reported that the Committee had nominated the following individuals for election as elected delegates to the House of Delegates for the 2020-2021 Association year:

<u>First District</u>: Susan B. Lindenauer, Hon. Cheryl E. Chambers, and Peter Harvey, all of New York City;

Second District: Andrew M. Fallek, Anthony W. Vaughn, and Pauline Yeung-Ha, all of Brooklyn;

Third District: Hermes Fernandez, Elena DeFio Kean, and Sandra Rivera, all of Albany;

<u>Fourth District</u>: Margaret E. Gilmartin of Saratoga Springs, Matthew R. Coseo of Ballston Spa, and Peter V. Coffey of Schenectady;

<u>Fifth District</u>: Courtney S. Radick of Oswego, Donald C. Doerr of Syracuse, and Stuart Larose of Syracuse;

<u>Sixth District</u>: Andria R. Adigwe of Binghamton, Robert M. Shafer of Tully, and Michael R. May of Ithaca;

<u>Seventh District</u>: Duwaine T. Bascoe of Penfield, Stephen M. Kelley of Geneseo, and Amy E. Schwartz-Wallace of Rochester;

<u>Eighth District</u>: Kathleen Sweet of Buffalo, Michael M. Mohun of Warsaw, and Ericka N. Bennett of Buffalo;

<u>Ninth District</u>: John A. Pappalardo of White Plains, Andrew P. Schriever of White Plains, and Joseph J. Ranni of Florida;

<u>Tenth District</u>: Steven G. Leventhal of Roslyn, Peter H. Levy of Jericho, and A. Craig Purcell of Stony Brook;

<u>Eleventh District</u>: Hon. Lourdes M. Ventura of Albertson, Steven Wimpfheimer of Whitestone, and Hon. Karina E. Alomar of Kew Gardens;

<u>Twelfth District</u>: Steven E. Millon of the Bronx, Carlos M. Calderón of Scarsdale, and Adam J. Sheldon of New York City;

<u>Thirteenth District</u>: Orin J. Cohen, Allyn J. Crawford, and Sheila T. McGinn, all of Staten Island.

There being no further nominations, a motion was made and carried for the Secretary to cast a single ballot for the elected delegates to the House of Delegates.

- 4. <u>Report of Treasurer</u>. Domenick Napoletano, Treasurer, reported on the 2019 operating budget through December 31, 2019. He reported that the Association's total revenue was \$22 million, a decrease of approximately \$285,000 from the previous year, and total expenses were \$22 million, a decrease of approximately \$136,000 from the previous year. The operating surplus prior to audit was approximately \$1 million. The report was received with thanks.
- 5. <u>Report and recommendations of Committee on Bylaws</u>. Robert T. Schofield, IV, chair of the Bylaws Committee, presented the Committee's proposals to amend the Bylaws to provide for a class of Non-Attorney Affiliates. After discussion, a motion was adopted to approve the bylaws amendment. Prof. Fox abstained from participating and voting.

6. <u>Adjournment</u>. There being no further business, the Annual Meeting of the Association was adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted,

they Z

Sherry Levin Wallach Secretary