NEW YORK STATE BAR ASSOCIATION MINUTES OF HOUSE OF DELEGATES MEETING REMOTE MEETING JANUARY 30, 2021

PRESENT: Abneri; Adigwe; Alcott; Alicea; Alomar; Alsina; Bahn; Barnes; Bascoe; Battistoni; Baum; Behrins; Beltran; Berkey; Berman; Betz; Billings; Bladykas; Boston; Brown; Buholtz; Buzard; Castellano; Chambers; Chandrasekhar; Chang; Christopher; Cohen, D.; Cohen, M.; Cohn; Dean; DeFio Kean; Degnan; Doerr; Doxey; Doyle; Eberle; Effman; England; Fallek; Fennell; Fernandez; Filabi; Filemyr; Finerty; First; Fishberg; Foley; Fox, J.; Fox, M.; Freedman; Frumkin; Genoa; Gerstman; Getnick; Gilmartin; Gold; Good; Grady; Grays; Griesemer; Grimaldi; Gross; Gutekunst; Gutenberger; Gutierrez; Hack; Harper; Hartman; Heath; Hobika; Holtzman; Jaglom; James; Jimenez; Jochmans; Joseph; Kamins; Kamholz; Kapnick; Katz; Kehoe; Kelly; Kendall; Kenney; Kiernan; Kimura; Kirby; Kobak; Kretser; Kretzing; LaBarbera; Lanouette; Lara; LaRose; Lau-Kee; Lawrence; Leber; Leo; Lessard; Leventhal; Levin; Levy; Lewis; Lindenauer; Lisi; Lugo; MacLean; Madigan; Maldonado; Marinaccio; Markowitz; Maroney; Marotta; Matos; May; McElwreath; McGinn; McNamara, C.; McNamara, M.; Meyer, H.; Meyer, J.; Middleton; Miller, M.; Miller, R.; Millett; Milone; Minkoff; Minkowitz; Miranda; Montagnino; Moore; Moretti; Morrissey; Mukherji; Muller; Mulry; Napoletano; Newman; Noble; Nolfo; O'Connell, B.; O'Connell, D.; Onderdonk; Owens; Palermo, A.; Palermo, C.; Pappalardo; Perlman; Pessala; Pitegoff; Pleat; Poster-Zimmerman; Purcell; Radick; Reed, L.; Reed, M.; Riano; Richardson; Richman; Richter; Rivera Agosto; Robinson; Rosenthal; Russ; Russell; Ryan; Ryba; Safer; Samuels; Santiago; Scheinkman; Schofield; Schraver; Schwartz-Wallace; Scott; Seiden; Sen; Shafer; Shampnoi; Shapiro; Sheldon; Shoemaker; Sigmond; Silkenat; Sise; Slavit; Sonberg; Starkman; Stoeckmann; Swanson; Sweet; Tambasco; Taylor; Tesser; Triebwasser; van der Meulen; Vaughn; Ventura; Vigdor; Warner; Waterman; Weiss; Westlake; Wimpfheimer; Wolff; Woodley; Yeung-Ha; Young; Younger; Zimmerman.

- 2. <u>Report of the Treasurer</u>. The Treasurer's report for twelve months ending December 31, 2020, which had been presented by Treasurer Domenick Napoletano to members of the Association at the Annual Meeting, was received with thanks.
- 3. Report of the Nominating Committee and election of officers and members-at-large of the Executive Committee. Sharon Stern Gerstman, chair of the Nominating Committee, reported that the Committee had nominated the following individuals for election to the indicated offices for the 2021-2012 Association year: President-Elect: Sherry Levin Wallach, White Plains; Secretary: Taa R. Grays, New York City; Treasurer: Domenick Napoletano, Brooklyn; and Vice Presidents: First District - Diana S. Sen and Michael McNamara, New York City; Second - Aimee L. Richter, Brooklyn; Third - Robert T. Schofield IV, Albany; Fourth - Nancy Sciocchetti, Saratoga Springs; Fifth - Jean Marie Westlake, East Syracuse; Sixth - Richard C. Lewis, Binghamton; Seventh - Mark J. Moretti, Rochester; Eighth - Kathleen M. Sweet, Buffalo; Ninth - Adam Seiden, Mount Vernon; Tenth – Donna England, Centereach; Eleventh – David L. Cohen, Kew Gardens; Twelfth – Michael A. Marinaccio, White Plains; Thirteenth – Orin J. Cohen, Staten Island. Nominated as members-at-large of the Executive Committee were Sandra Rivera, Albany; Thomas J. Maroney, New York City; LaMarr Jackson, Rochester; and Simeon H. Baum, New York City.

There being no further nominations, a motion was made and carried unanimously to elect the above-named individuals as officers and members-at-large of the Executive Committee.

- 4. <u>Report of Committee on NYSBA Facilities</u>. David P. Miranda, chair of the committee, together with committee members Michael McNamara and Sandra Rivera, updated the House with respect to its ongoing review of the use of the One Elk Street premises and discussions with representatives of The New York Bar Foundation. In her capacity as a member of the Finance Committee, Ms. Rivera reported on the Finance Committee's work in reviewing the costs of maintaining and updating One Elk Street and its review of the potential use of Association reserves in this regard. The report was received with thanks.
- 5. <u>Report and recommendations of Committee on Immigration Representation</u>. Hasan Shafiqullah, chair of the committee, reviewed the committee's report recommending the creation of an Article I immigration court to insulate immigration adjudication from political pressure. After discussion, a motion was adopted to approve the report and recommendations.
- 6. <u>Report and recommendations of Committee on Mandated Representation</u>. Norman P. Effman, past chair of the committee, presented proposed amendments to the Standards for Mandated Representation, originally approved by the House of Delegates in 2005 and intended to provide guidance to providers of mandated representation to ensure the provision of high-quality legal representation. After discussion, a motion was adopted to approve amendments.
- 7. <u>Report of LGBTQ Law Section</u>. Christopher R. Riano, chair of the section, updated the House regarding the section's activities since the House approved its creation in November 2020. The report was received with thanks.
- 8. <u>Report of Committee on Association Communications and Publications</u>. Prof. Michael L. Fox, chair of the committee, presented an informational report on the committee's activities and goals for 2021. The report was received with thanks.
- 9. <u>Administrative items</u>. Mr. Brown reported on the following:

<u>NYSBA delegates to ABA House of Delegates</u>. At the April 10, 2021 meeting, the House would be requested to elect five of the Association's 11 delegates to the American Bar Association House of Delegates. The Nominating Committee had nominated the following individuals: Claire P. Gutekunst, Yonkers; Scott M. Karson, Melville; Bernice K. Leber, New York City; Michael Miller, New York City; Sherry Levin Wallach, White Plains.

10. <u>Date and place of next meeting</u>. Mr. Brown announced that the next meeting of the House of Delegates would take place on Saturday, April 10, 2021 as a remote meeting.

11. <u>Adjournment</u>. There being no further business to come before the House of Delegates, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted,

flood 7

Sherry Levin Wallach Secretary