NEW YORK STATE BAR ASSOCIATION MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING REMOTE MEETING JANUARY 30, 2021

.....

PRESENT: Abneri; Adigwe; Alcott; Alicea; Alomar; Alsina; Bahn; Barnes; Bascoe; Battistoni; Baum; Behrins; Beltran; Berkey; Berman; Betz; Billings; Bladykas; Boston; Brown; Buholtz; Buzard; Castellano; Chambers; Chandrasekhar; Chang; Christopher; Cohen, D.; Cohen, M.; Cohn; Dean; DeFio Kean; Degnan; Doerr; Doxey; Doyle; Eberle; Effman; England; Fallek; Fennell; Fernandez; Filabi; Filemyr; Finerty; First; Fishberg; Foley; Fox, J.; Fox, M.; Freedman; Frumkin; Genoa; Gerstman; Getnick; Gilmartin; Gold; Good; Grady; Grays; Griesemer; Grimaldi; Gross; Gutekunst; Gutenberger; Gutierrez; Hack; Harper; Hartman; Heath; Hobika; Holtzman; Jaglom; James; Jimenez; Jochmans; Joseph; Kamins; Kamholz; Kapnick; Katz; Kehoe; Kelly; Kendall; Kenney; Kiernan; Kimura; Kirby; Kobak; Kretser; Kretzing; LaBarbera; Lanouette; Lara; LaRose; Lau-Kee; Lawrence; Leber; Leo; Lessard; Leventhal; Levin; Levy; Lewis; Lindenauer; Lisi; Lugo; MacLean; Madigan; Maldonado; Marinaccio; Markowitz; Maroney; Marotta; Matos; May; McElwreath; McGinn; McNamara, C.; McNamara, M.; Meyer, H.; Meyer, J.; Middleton; Miller, M.; Miller, R.; Millett; Milone; Minkoff; Minkowitz; Miranda; Montagnino; Moore; Moretti; Morrissey; Mukherji; Muller; Mulry; Napoletano; Newman; Noble; Nolfo; O'Connell, B.; O'Connell, D.; Onderdonk; Owens; Palermo, A.; Palermo, C.; Pappalardo; Perlman; Pessala; Pitegoff; Pleat; Poster-Zimmerman; Purcell; Radick; Reed, L.; Reed, M.; Riano; Richardson; Richman; Richter; Rivera Agosto; Robinson; Rosenthal; Russ; Russell; Ryan; Ryba; Safer; Samuels; Santiago; Scheinkman; Schofield; Schraver; Schwartz-Wallace; Scott; Seiden; Sen; Shafer; Shampnoi; Shapiro; Sheldon; Shoemaker; Sigmond; Silkenat; Sise; Slavit; Sonberg; Starkman; Stoeckmann; Swanson; Sweet; Tambasco; Taylor; Tesser; Triebwasser; van der Meulen; Vaughn; Ventura; Vigdor; Warner; Waterman; Weiss; Westlake; Wimpfheimer; Wolff; Woodley; Yeung-Ha; Young; Younger; Zimmerman.

Mr. Karson presided over the meeting as President of the Association.

- 1. The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance recited.
- 2. <u>Approval of minutes of the January 31, 2020 meeting</u>. The minutes, as previously distributed, were accepted.
- 3. Report of the Nominating Committee and election of elected delegates to the House of Delegates. Sharon Stern Gerstman, chair of the Nominating Committee, reported that the Committee had nominated the following individuals for election as elected delegates to the House of Delegates for the 2021-2022 Association year:

<u>First District</u>: Susan B. Lindenauer, Hon. Cheryl E. Chambers, and Peter Harvey, all of New York City;

<u>Second District</u>: Andrew M. Fallek, Anthony W. Vaughn, and Pauline Yeung-Ha, all of Brooklyn;

<u>Third District</u>: Jane Bello Burke, Elena DeFio Kean, and a member to be announced, all of Albany;

<u>Fourth District</u>: M. Elizabeth Coreno and Margaret E. Gilmartin of Saratoga Springs and Nicole L. Clouthier of Schenectady;

<u>Fifth District</u>: Courtney S. Radick of Oswego, Donald C. Doerr of Syracuse, and Stuart Larose of Syracuse;

<u>Sixth District</u>: Andria R. Adigwe of Binghamton, Robert M. Shafer of Tully, and Michael R. May of Ithaca;

<u>Seventh District</u>: Duwaine T. Bascoe of Penfield, Stephen M. Kelley of Geneseo, and Amy E. Schwartz-Wallace of Rochester;

<u>Eighth District</u>: Norman P. Effman, Michael M. Mohun and Leah Nowotarski, all of Warsaw;

Ninth District: Karen Beltran, Claire J. Degnan, and Hon. Linda S. Jamieson, all of White Plains;

<u>Tenth District</u>: Steven G. Leventhal of Roslyn, Peter H. Levy of Jericho, and A. Craig Purcell of Stony Brook;

<u>Eleventh District</u>: Karen Dubowski Barba of Jamaica, Steven Wimpfheimer of Whitestone, and Hon. Karina E. Alomar of Kew Gardens;

<u>Twelfth District</u>: Steven E. Millon of the Bronx, Samuel Braverman of the Bronx, and Adam J. Sheldon of New York City;

<u>Thirteenth District</u>: Edwina Frances Martin, Allyn J. Crawford, and Sheila T. McGinn, all of Staten Island.

There being no further nominations, a motion was made and carried for the Secretary to cast a single ballot for the elected delegates to the House of Delegates.

- 4. <u>Address by Hon, Janet DiFiore, Chief Judge of the State of New York</u>. Chief Judge DiFiore updated the members with respect to the status of Unified Court System initiatives with a particular focus on the court system's efforts to address access to justice in light of the Covid-19 pandemic. Mr. Karson thanked her for her report.
- 5. Report of President. Mr. Karson highlighted the items contained in his written report, a copy of which is appended to these minutes.
- 6. Report of Treasurer. Domenick Napoletano, Treasurer, reported on the 2020 operating budget through December 31, 2020. noting that through December 31, 2020, the Association's total revenue was \$22,031,000, a decrease of approximately \$1.7 million

from the previous year, and total expenses were \$19.2 million, a decrease of approximately \$2.3 million over 2019. The report was received with thanks.

- 7. Report and recommendations of Committee on Bylaws. Robert T. Schofield, IV, chair of the Bylaws Committee, presented the Committee's proposals to amend the Bylaws to address remote meetings of the Association, the House of Delegates, and sections and committees. After discussion, a motion was adopted to approve the bylaws amendments.
- 8. <u>Adjournment</u>. There being no further business, the Annual Meeting of the Association was adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted,

Sherry Levin Wallach

Secretary