NEW YORK STATE BAR ASSOCIATION MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING REMOTE MEETING JANUARY 22, 2022

PRESENT: Abneri; Ahern; Ahn; Alcott; Alomar; Altman; Bahn; Barone; Barrie; Bascoe; Battistoni; Baum; Bechtel; Beltran; Berlin; Berman; Bierman; Bikel; Bladykas; Bond; Boston; Brafman; Brandow; Braunstein; Braverman; Bray; Braymer; Brilling; A. Brown; S. Brown; Burke; Burns; Buzard; Byun; Cameron; Carbajal-Evangelista; Carter; Chandrasekhar; Chang; Choi; Clouthier; B. Cohen; D. Cohen; O. Cohen; S. Cohen; Coreno; D'Angelo; DeFio Kean; Degnan; Doerr; Dubowski; Durocher; Eaddy; Edwards; Effman; Ehrlich; Engel; England; Eustaquio; Feal; Fellows; Fenichel; Filemyr; Finerty; Fish; Fox; R. Friedman; M. Friedman; Gallinari; Geldenhuys; Gentile; Gerstman; Getnick; Gilbert; Gilmartin; Gold; Goldfarb; Gomez-Velez; Good; Gould; Grady; Grays; Green; Griffin; Groppe; Gross; Gutekunst; Guzman-Diaz; Haig; Hatcher; Hayes; Heath; Hecker; Hedden; Heiskell; Hill; Himes; Holder; Islam; Jackson; Jaglom; James; Jamieson; Jimenez; Johnson; Joseph; Kamins; A. Katz; J. Katz; Kaufman; Kaye; Kehoe; K. Kelly; M. Kelly; Kendall; Kenney; Kenworthey; King; Kobak; Kotin; Kougasian; Kreismann; Kretzing; LaBarbera; Lara; Lau-Kee; Law; Lawrence; Leo; Leventhal; N. Levin; T. Levin; Levin Wallach; J. Levy; P. Levy; Lewis; Lindenauer; Ling; Lisi; Loyola; Lucas; Lugo; Karson; MacLean; Madigan; Mallo; Marinaccio; Markowitz; Maroney; Martin; Mastroianni; Matos; Matthews; Mazur; McGinn; McGrath; C. McNamrara; M. McNamara; Middleton; C. Miller; M. Miller; Milone; Minkowitz; Moreno; Moretti; Morrissey; Mukerji; Mulry; Napoletano; Newman; Nieves; Noble; Nowotarski; O'Connell; O'Connor; O'Kelly; Ostrer; Owens; Pace; Palermo; Palumbo; Pandolfo; Parker; Peretz; Perez; Perlman; Powers; Quaye; Quinones; Radick; Radman; Rahman; Reavis; Reed; Richman; Richter; Roberts; Rochelson; Rosen; Rosenthal; Roxland; Rubtchinsky; Russ; Russell; Ryan; Safer; Saini; Santiago; Schall; Schofield; Schram; Schraver; Schwartz-Wallace; Sciocchetti; Scott; Segal; Seiden; Sen; Sewell; Shafiqullah; J. Shapiro; S. Shapiro; Sharkey; Sheehan; Shoenthal; Shukoff; Siegel; Silkenat; Simon; Sise; Slavit; A. Smith; R. Smith; Soller; Sonberg; Starkman; Steinberg; Stong; Strom; Swanson; Tambasco; Taylor; Torrey; Treff; Triebwasser; Tsigounis; Tully; Udler-Meier; Ustin; Van Aken; van der Meulen; Venkatraman; Walker; Ward; Warner; Watanabe; Waterman-Marshall; Webb; Wessel; Wesson; Wolff; Woodley; Yaeger; Yeung-He; Young; Younger; Zuckerman

Mr. Brown presided over the meeting as President of the Association.

- 1. The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance recited. Mr. Brown conveyed on behalf of the Association deepest condolences to past president Vincent E. Doyle III and family upon the passing of Mr. Doyle's mother, Joan W. Doyle.
- 2. <u>Approval of minutes of the January 30, 2021, meeting</u>. The minutes, as previously distributed, were accepted.
- 3. <u>Report of the Nominating Committee and election of elected delegates to the House of Delegates</u>. Michael Miller, chair of the Nominating Committee, reported that the Committee had nominated the following individuals for election as elected delegates to the House of Delegates for the 2022-2023 Association year:

<u>First District</u>: Bridgette Y. Ahn, James B. Kobak, and Stephen Charles Lessard, all of New York City;

Second District: Arthur I. Aidala, Aimee L. Richter, Anthony Vaughn, all of Brooklyn;

Third District: Jane Bello Burke, Hermes Fernandez, and Mishka Woodley, all of Albany;

<u>Fourth District</u>: M. Elizabeth Coreno and Margaret E. Gilmartin of Saratoga Springs, and Nicole L. Clouthier of Schenectady;

<u>Fifth District</u>: John T. McCann and Stuart Larose of Syracuse, and Jean Marie Westlake of East Syracuse;

<u>Sixth District</u>: Andria R. Adigwe and Alyssa M. Barreiro of Binghamton, and Jeri Ann Duvall of Cortland;

<u>Seventh District</u>: Duwaine T. Bascoe of Penfield, Stephen M. Kelley of Geneseo, and Amy E. Schwartz-Wallace of Rochester;

<u>Eighth District</u>: Sophie I. Feal of Buffalo, and Norman P. Effman and Leah Nowotarski of Warsaw;

Ninth District: Karen Beltran, Claire J. Degnan, and Hon. Linda S. Jamieson, all of White Plains;

<u>Tenth District</u>: Ilene S. Cooper of Uniondale, John H. Gross of Happauge, and Steven G. Leventhal of Roslyn;

<u>Eleventh District</u>: Karen Dubowski and Arthur N. Terranova of Queens, and Hon. Karina E. Alomar of Kew Gardens;

<u>Twelfth District</u>: Samuel Braverman, Renee Corley Hill, and Steven E. Millon of the Bronx;

<u>Thirteenth District</u>: Allyn J. Crawford, Edwina Frances Martin, and Sheila T. McGinn, all of Staten Island.

There being no further nominations, a motion was made and carried for the Secretary to cast a single ballot for the elected delegates to the House of Delegates.

4. <u>Address by Hon, Janet DiFiore, Chief Judge of the State of New York</u>. Chief Judge DiFiore updated the members with respect to the status of Unified Court System initiatives with a particular focus on the administration of the court system throughout the COVID-19 crisis, including virtual proceedings and court reopening, efforts to implement equal justice recommendations within the New York courts, a proposal for court simplification, and comments on the proposed judiciary budget. Mr. Brown thanked her for her report.

- 5. <u>Remark by Hon. Elizabeth R. Fine, Counsel to the Governor</u>. Counsel Fine, on behalf of Governor Kathy C. Hochul, updated the members with respect to items of interest from the 2022 State of the State and the Executive Budget proposal, and efforts to improve workplace practices and increase transparency within state government. Mr. Brown thanked her for her report.
- 6. <u>Report of President</u>. Mr. Brown highlighted the items contained in his written report, a copy of which is appended to these minutes.
- 7. <u>Report of Treasurer</u>. Domenick Napoletano, Treasurer, reported on the 2021 operating budget through December 31, 2021, noting that through December 31, 2021, the Association's total revenue was \$18.7 million, a decrease of approximately \$1.65 million from the previous year, and total expenses were \$15.9 million, a decrease of approximately \$2.9 million over 2020, for a surplus of \$2.73 million, an increase of approximately \$1.25 million compared to 2020. The report was received with thanks.
- 8. <u>Report and recommendations of Committee on Bylaws</u>. Robert T. Schofield, IV, chair of the Bylaws Committee, presented the Committee's proposals bylaws amendments to remove gender-specific language from the Bylaws. After discussion, a motion was adopted to approve the bylaws amendments.
- 9. <u>Adjournment</u>. There being no further business, the Annual Meeting of the Association was adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted,

Taay rays

Taa R. Grays Secretary