

The New York Bar Foundation Annual Meeting MINUTES

REMOTE MEETNG January 22, 2022

PRESENT: Abneri; Ahern; Ahn; Alcott; Alomar; Altman; Bahn; Barone; Barrie; Bascoe; Battistoni; Baum; Bechtel; Beltran; Berlin; Berman; Bierman; Bikel; Bladykas; Bond; Boston; Brafman; Brandow; Braunstein; Braverman; Bray; Braymer; Brilling; A. Brown; S. Brown; Burke; Burns; Buzard; Byun; Cameron; Carbajal-Evangelista; Carter; Chandrasekhar; Chang; Choi; Clouthier; B. Cohen; D. Cohen; O. Cohen; S. Cohen; Coreno; D'Angelo; DeFio Kean; Degnan; Doerr; Dubowski; Durocher; Eaddy; Edwards; Effman; Ehrlich; Engel; England; Eustaquio; Feal; Fellows; Fenichel; Filemyr; Finerty; Fish; Fox; R. Friedman; M. Friedman; Gallinari; Geldenhuys; Gentile; Gerstman; Getnick; Gilbert; Gilmartin; Gold; Goldfarb; GomezVelez; Good; Gould; Grady; Grays; Green; Griffin; Groppe; Gross; Gutekunst; Guzman-Diaz; Haig; Hatcher; Hayes; Heath; Hecker; Hedden; Heiskell; Hill; Himes; Holder; Islam; Jackson; Jaglom; James; Jamieson; Jimenez; Johnson; Joseph; Kamins; A. Katz; J. Katz; Kaufman; Kaye; Kehoe; K. Kelly; M. Kelly; Kendall; Kenney; Kenworthey; King; Kobak; Kotin; Kougasian; Kreismann; Kretzing; LaBarbera; Lara; Lau-Kee; Law; Lawrence; Leo; Leventhal; N. Levin; T. Levin; Levin Wallach; J. Levy; P. Levy; Lewis; Lindenauer; Ling; Lisi; Loyola; Lucas; Lugo; Karson; MacLean; Madigan; Mallo; Marinaccio; Markowitz; Maroney; Martin; Mastroianni; Matos; Matthews; Mazur; McGinn; McGrath; C. McNamrara; M. McNamara; Middleton; C. Miller; M. Miller; Milone; Minkowitz; Moreno; Moretti; Morrissey; Mukerji; Mulry; Napoletano; Newman; Nieves; Noble; Nowotarski; O'Connell; O'Connor; O'Kelly; Ostrer; Owens; Pace; Palermo; Palumbo; Pandolfo; Parker; Perez; Perez; Perlman; Powers; Quaye; Quinones; Radick; Radman; Rahman; Reavis; Reed; Richman; Richter; Roberts; Rochelson; Rosen; Rosenthal; Roxland; Rubtchinsky; Russ; Russell; Ryan; Safer; Saini; Santiago; Schall; Schofield; Schram; Schraver; Schwartz-Wallace; Sciocchetti; Scott; Segal; Seiden; Sen; Sewell; Shafiqullah; J. Shapiro; S. Shapiro; Sharkey; Sheehan; Shoenthal; Shukoff; Siegel; Silkenat; Simon; Sise; Slavit; A. Smith; R. Smith; Soller; Sonberg; Starkman; Steinberg; Stong; Strom; Swanson; Tambasco; Taylor; Torrey; Treff; Triebwasser; Tsigounis; Tully; Udler-Meier; Ustin; Van Aken; van der Meulen; Venkatraman; Walker; Ward; Warner; Watanabe; Waterman-Marshall; Webb; Wessel; Wesson; Wolff; Woodley; Yaeger; Yeung-He; Young; Younger; Zuckerman President Carla M. Palumbo called the meeting to order.

Approval of minutes: On a motion duly made and carried, the minutes of the Annual Meeting of the New York Bar Foundation of January 30, 2021 were accepted.

Report of Officers: President Carla M. Palumbo noted the distribution of the 2021 Annual Report of the New York Bar Foundation, included with the House of Delegates materials. The Annual Report sets forth in detail the operations and activities of the Foundation during 2021. Ms. Palumbo shared highlights including:

• Through partnerships with several NYSBA Sections and with the support of our donors, the Foundation offered \$228,500 in scholarship and fellowship opportunities to 87 law students and law-

related organizations. The fellowships provide valuable summer law office experiences for students and provide these students with real life experience in a legal setting.

- Under the auspices of the Hon. Judith S. Kaye Children and the Law Scholarship Fund, the Foundation helped bridge the gap to a successful future for young adults aging out of foster care. Seventeen young adults were assisted by this program to attain life and educational essentials including books, laptops, and food.
- More than \$700,000 was allocated in grants to organizations to support numerous unmet legal needs across New York State. The Foundation helped support 106 grant programs, assisting more than 160,700 people and impacting more than 5.3 million of our neighbors in need of legal services throughout New York State.

Ms. Palumbo reported on the progress of the transfer of 1 Elk Street.

Following the conclusion of the report on the activities of the Foundation, a video was shown demonstrating the collaborative impact of the Foundation and its donors.

Ms. Palumbo reported on the Annual Meeting Campaign, a joint initiative with the Association focusing on the issue of attorney wellness. Ms. Palumbo closed her report reminding everyone that the Annual Meeting and Assembly of the Fellows will be held on January 27, 2022 and that Dean John D. Feerick will be presented the Foundation's Lifetime Award.

Ratification and confirmation of actions of the Board: A motion was adopted ratifying, confirming, and approving the actions of the Board of Directors since the 2021 Annual Meeting.

Report of Nominating Committee: Reporting on behalf of the Nominating Committee, Chair David M. Schraver placed in nomination the following slate of nominees presented by the Committee for the position of Director for terms commencing June 1, 2022 and concluding May 31, 2025:

- John Christopher, Glen Head
- C. Bruce Lawrence, Rochester
- David Singer, New York City
- David Schraver, Rochester

A motion was adopted electing said Directors.

Adjournment: There being no further business, the Annual Meeting of the Foundation was thereupon adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Hamelal Chevill

Pamela McDevitt Secretary