Membership in NYSBA’s Antitrust Law Section is a valuable way to:

  • Enhance professional skills
  • Join colleagues in exciting Section events
  • Increase your network of contacts in the practice of antitrust law

Opportunities for Professional Growth and Achievement

NYSBA’s Antitrust Law Section offers members excellent ways to enhance their knowledge and expertise by participating in the Section activities.

Through events featuring outstanding speakers, members can examine critical developments in antitrust.  The Section also co-sponsors MCLE programs for New York State Bar Association members at special member rates.

All of these activities enable you to stay on top of the constantly developing field of antitrust law, as well as meet and work with colleagues who share your interests.

Participation in Section Activities is Easy

The Antitrust Law Section aims to address the complex issues that constantly arise in the field, and to communicate about antitrust law with the profession as a whole.  Through formal comments on proposed legislation, the Section’s program held during NYSBA’s Annual Meeting presents the most current issues in presentations by experienced practitioners (including enforcement agency officials), economists and business persons.

The Section offers its members a variety of ways to participate.  The Section’s Executive Committee welcomes membership participation in these activities, as well as others, and encourages interested members to contact it to discuss opportunities.

Stay Informed

The Antitrust Law Section also publishes the annual Antitrust Law Section Symposium, a transcript of the Section’s extremely popular NYSBA Annual Meeting program.  The resources available on the website are substantive case reviews, a comprehensive listing of links relevant to the Section and online access to Section publications and special reports.

A Voice in the Association

The Antitrust Law Section addresses major professional issues that affect practitioners, and advocates those positions where appropriate, including within the New York State Bar Association and to the United States and New York State legislatures.

Membership in the New York State Bar Association’s Antitrust Law Section is a valuable way for you to keep up-to-date on the growing number of issues and concerns that face the ever-changing legal profession.

Are you interested in volunteering for a Section Committee? Please email your staff liaison to indicate the committees you wish to join. Thank you!

Contact the Antitrust Law Section Liaison

To learn more about this Section, please contact Dana Alamia
(518) 487-5607

Antitrust Section Chair

Hollis Salzman

The new Chair of the Antitrust Law Section is Hollis Salzman, assistant managing partner in the New York office of Robins Kaplan.

Salzman is co-chair of her firm’s antitrust and trade regulation group.

She serves as co-chair of the American Bar Association Section of Antitrust Law’s Antitrust/Consumer Protection Policy US Comments Task Force. She also is an advisory board member for the American Antitrust Institute.

Salzman holds degrees from Boston University and Nova University School of Law.

Past Section Chairs

1949-1958 – Charles Wesley Dunn
1958-1961 – Breck P. McAllister
1961-1962 – Jerrold G. VanCise
1962-1963 – Taggart Whipple
1963-1964 – Kendall B. DeBevoise
1964-1965 – Albert R. Connelly
1965-1966 – Edgar E. Barton
1966-1967 – William M. Sayre
1967-1968 – Ira M. Millstein
1968-1969 – John W. Barnum
1969-1970 – Seymour D. Lewis
1970-1971 – George D. Reycraft
1971-1972 – Joshua F. Greenberg
1972-1973 – James R. Withrow, Jr.
1973-1974 – William T. Lifland
1974-1975 – Robert A. Longman
1975-1976 – George J. Wade
1976-1977 – William E. Willis
1977-1978 – Edward Wolfe
1978-1979 – Eleanor M. Fox
1979-1980 – Henry L. King
1980-1981 – Irving Scher
1981-1982 – James T. Halverson
1982-1983 – Stephen M. Axinn
1983-1984 – Kimba W. Wood
1984-1985 – Walter Barthold
1985-1986 – Sanford Litvack
1986-1987 – Prof. Barry E. Hawk
1987-1988 – Veron E. Vig
1988-1989 – Norma B. Levy
1989-1990 – Lloyd Constantine
1990-1991 – Lloyd Constantine
1991-1992 – Lawrence I. Fox
1992-1993 – Lawrence I. Fox
1993-1994 – Stephen D. Houck
1994-1995 – Alan J. Weinschel
1995-1996 – Alan J. Weinschel
1996-1997 – Edward D. Cavanagh
1997-1998 – Barry J. Brett
1998-1999 – Michael Malina
1999-2000 – Robert L. Hubbard
2000-2001 – Martha E. Gifford
2001-2002 – Kenneth R. Logan
2002-2003 – Steven M. Edwards
2003-7/3/03 – Pamela Jones Harbour**
2003-2005 – Barbara Anthony
2005-2006 – Steven Tugander
2006-2007 – Ilene Knable Gotts
2007-2008 – Saul P. Morgenstern
2008-2009 – Stacey Anne Mahoney
2009-2010 – Bruce J. Prager
2010-2011 – Stephen S. Madsen
2011-2012 – Jay L. Himes
2012-2013 – William H. Rooney
2013-2014 – Eric J. Stock
2014-2015 – Barbara J. Hart
2015-2016 – Elai Katz
2016-2017 – Lisl J. Dunlop
2017-2018 – Michael L. Weiner
2018-2019 – Wesley R. Powell
2019-2020 – Nicholas E. Gaglio

Online Community

City Skyline and Symposium cover


Antitrust Law Section Symposium

The Antitrust Law Section Symposium is the published transcript of the Antitrust Law Section’s symposium held at NYSBA’s Annual Meeting in January. Edited by Robert L. Hubbard and Arlene Leventhal at the New York Attorney General’s office, the Symposium includes panel discussions and an annual review of antitrust developments. The Antitrust Law Section Symposium is published once per year and distributed to Section Members free of charge.

The Antitrust Law Section Symposium is published as a benefit for members of the Antitrust Law Section and is copyrighted by the New York State Bar Association. The copying, reselling, duplication, transferring, reproducing, reusing, retaining or reprinting of this publication is strictly prohibited without permission.

© New York State Bar Association. All rights reserved. ISSN 1056-4136 (print)     ISSN 1933-8554 (online)


Section Chair’s Report


Section Service Awards

The Antitrust Law Section confers two service awards.  The William T. Lifland Service Award has been given since 1997 and was renamed in honor of its first recipient, William T. Lifland, in 2007.  The Distinguished Public Service Award was created in 2007.

William T. Lifland Service Award

Distinguished Public Service Award

The Public Service Award is made periodically and acknowledges those who have distinguished themselves not only as leading antitrust practitioners, but as individuals who have brought distinction to the antitrust bar as a whole by making significant leadership contributions to the public interest through their service to the bar and to society generally.  The Award is presented to the recipient by the Antitrust Section at its annual dinner.

2007 – Ira M. Millstein
2008 – Joel Klein
2011 – Robert D. Joffe (posthumously)
2014 – Eleanor M. Fox
2017 – Hon. Paul A. Crotty

Student Writing Competition



NYSBA Antitrust Law Section Mentoring Program

The Antitrust Law Section is looking for mentors and mentees for its 2020 mentoring program!

  • Mentees should be law students or junior attorneys in their first 5 years of practice. Mentors should be attorneys with 6 or more years of experience.
  • Mentors will provide guidance, direction and advice to their mentees, including insight on how to get more involved with the Antitrust Law Section.
  • The program will kick-off this spring and run through December 2020.

How do I sign up?
To receive the mentor/mentee questionnaire to allow us to match you, please email Dana Alamia at 

Participation in the program is complimentary.

Contact Us

gradient circle (purple) gradient circle (green)

Connect with Antitrust Law Section